Tags

, , ,

As a public service announcement to the greater non-teaching fraternity of individuals who harbor some serious misconceptions about the summer dalliances of those noble, enlightened public servants known as teachers, here’s a primer on what teachers do during the summer. Please send it to every teacher you’ve ever loved and both of the ones you loathed.

20130525-143838.jpg (While it would be nice to contemplate teachers everywhere going on an extended cruise together during the summer, that just doesn’t happen.)

Let me stop you right there, let me pre-empt the question,
You want the truth about when school’s not in session.

Though you don’t babble with words, with your eyes you do scoff,
Seething, “Must be kind of nice to have three months off.”

So to fuel your misconceptions, to stoke your be-smirking,
Here’s the real truth about life when you’re working.

You’re right on the mark with your condescending gaze,
Apathy and laziness characterize most of my days.

First you should know that I still keep a rigid routine,
Without fail each morning I arise at eleven fifteen.

Then it’s on to plotting ways of ruining your life,
Your family’s school year chaos? My calculated strife.

I get downright dastardly, evil genius-like dirty,
Planning to call at ten for the cupcakes due at nine-thirty.

I compose the year’s URGENT emails, and this time I’ll rhyme,
But they’re all quite pointless, I’m simply a thief of your time.

I ponder class lists and dream of wide-scale retention,
For all others? All forms of repeated detention.

How can I crush them and lay down the hammer?
I compose my final exam titled “Slow Death by Grammar.”

“What about all the travel?” you say with chagrin,
“To a globetrotting eternity, three months is surely akin.”

Oh yes, it’s lovely, be it the luxurious villa or the splendid chateau,
Though with cutbacks and furloughs, it’s on to exotic Fresno.

Of course, if you have but one clue about the heart of a teacher,
You know that this poem is one big fictional feature.

Truth be told, a school year drains us all the way down to zero,
It’s tough when you’re trying to play small-town hero.

When you have 25 children in the desks every day,
You’ve got 25 souls over which you have sway.

And when you love each one like he’s your own child,
It’s tough to hold back because your emotions go wild.

When they all file out and all that’s left is their scent,
It’s tough not to feel completely, utterly spent.

So please give me some grace even in your steel glare,
Ask if you must, but please be prepared.

When you question me about the plans for this season,
Know that my rest is based solely on reason.

In less than three months to the heights I again will reach,
You may work all year, but I touch the future, I teach.

If this poem resonated with you, send it to 100 people. If it didn’t, inflict it on a 1000. Either way say a prayer for a teacher who helped make you who you are today. If you’re feeling especially brave, share the story of a memorable teacher with The Write Project community by leaving a comment.